The tipping point?

For our Change by Design unite I was required to read the book; The Tipping point by Malcom Gladwell, I realise this book was an attempt to broaden our horizons as designers and to convey how a small idea can branch out and influence the world however, the book itself I found rather dull. Yes, it was full of interesting fact, some of which I have already began to tell my friends, but I found the writing style flat at times. The point of the book was evident and clear and served it’s purpose well as an example to use when mind mapping. After a while I found myself going round in circles rather than branching out to new points.

The mind mapping excercise was a success as I can now easily recall areas of the book I couldn’t after finishing it, this might have something to do with not enjoying it as much as other social science books such as Stanley Cohen’s: Folk devils and moral panics: the creation of the Mods and Rockers.

The opening chapters of the book started on a high note and I slowly felt the tipping point of my lack of interest. The topic itself should have been exciting and held my attention all in all I gave it a 7/10.

For our assignment we were asked to create a mind map focussing on different elements of the book we could remember, we were to show this via the new mind mapping techniques we had learned in Friday’s workshop.

Then we were asked to create a second going into further detail, at this I felt rather laboured as I had already lost myself in a lot of detail in the first attempt and felt I was repeating myself. I do think I have analysed the key points ‘Law of the Few’.

Bibliography:

Fischer, D. H., 1994, Paul Revere’s Ride, New York, Oxford University Press.

Milgram, S., 1967, The Small World Problem, Psychology Today,   vol. I, pp. 60-67.

Werner, C. and Parmelee, P., 1979, Similarity of Activity Preferences Among Friends: Those Who Play Together Stay Together, Social Psychology Quarterly, vol. 42, no. I, pp 62-66.

Tjaden, B., Oracle of Bacon, University of Virginia, www.cs.virginia.edu/oracle/.

Granovetter, M., 1995, Getting a Job, Chicago, University of Chicago Press.

Inman, J. J., McAlister, L. and Hoyer W. D., 1990, Promotion Signal: Proxy for a price Cut?, Journal of Consumer Research.

Feick, L. F. and Price,  L.L., January 1987, The Market Maven: A Diffuser of Marketplace Information, Journal of Marketing , vol. 51, pp. 83-97.

Higger, R. A., Feick, L. F. and Price, L.L., Fall 1987, Types and Amount of Word-of-Mouth Communications About Retailers, Journal of Retailing, vol. 63, no. 3, pp. 260-278.

Price,  L.L., Feick, L. F. and Guskey, A., Fall 1995, Everyday Market Helping Behaviour, Journal of Public Policy and Marketing, vol. 14, no. 2, pp. 255-266.

Mullen,  B., 1986, Newscasters’ facial expression and voting behaviour of viewers: Can a smile elect a President?,Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, vol. 51, pp. 291-295.

Wells, G. L. and Petty, R.E., 1980,The Effects of Overt Head Movements on Persuasion, Basic and Applied Social Psychology, vol. I, no. 3, pp. 219-230.

Condon , W. S., Cultural Microrhythms  in Davis, M. (ed.) , 1982, Interaction Rhythms: Periodicity in Communicative Behaviour,  New York, Human Sciences Press, pp. 53-76.

Hatfield , E., Cacioppo, J. T. and  Rapson, R. L., 1994, Emotional Contagion, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press.

Friedman, H., 1980, Understanding and Assessing Nonverbal Expressiveness: The Affective Communication Test,Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, vol. 39, no. 2, pp. 333-351.

Friedman, H. and Riggio , R., Winter 1981, Effect of Individual Differences in Nonverbal Expressiveness on Transmission of emotion, Journal of Nonverbal Behaviour , vol. 6, pp. 96-104.

Leave a Reply

